Sean Kleve

HomeAbout › Sean Kleve

Sean Kleve

Founding member

Percussionist, Composer, and Conductor Sean Kleve is the founder of Madison Wisconsin’s premiere experimental percussion ensemble, Clocks in Motion.  The group is dedicated to performing new and classic works for percussion instruments while promoting and supporting the education and future of new music. 

Clocks in Motion has toured extensively throughout the United States and has commissioned dozens of new compositions from composers such as Marc Mellits, Andrew Rindfleisch, John Jeffrey Gibbens, Filippo Santoro, and countless young and emerging composers. As a performer of new music outside of Clocks in Motion, Sean has worked closely with a number of important composers and artists including Steven Schick, Charles Wuorinen, Steve Reich, Paul Lansky, Gunther Schuller, Krzysztof Penderecki, John Heiss, and Joan Tower.

Not only known for his performances of contemporary music, Sean has also been successful in the orchestral field. Sean can be heard on the debut recording by the Chamber Orchestra of New York and has also performed with the Cleveland Chamber Symphony, the Dubuque Symphony, the Beloit-Janesville Symphony Orchestra, the Youngstown Symphony, and the Erie Philharmonic.  In addition, Sean is a substitute percussionist with the Madison Symphony Orchestra and the Madison Chamber Orchestra.

Born in Cleveland, Ohio, Sean completed his Bachelor of Music degree in Percussion Performance at Baldwin-Wallace University and his Master of Music degree at the Manhattan School of Music.  Sean completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree in classical percussion with a minor in music theory at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2014. Sean commissioned five new experimental compositions and professionally recorded the pieces for his doctoral project. Sean was a recipient of the Paul Collins Fellowship (2010-2013), which is awarded to outstanding graduate performance majors and determined by a committee of performance faculty.  Sean’s principal teachers include Anthony Di Sanza, Duncan Patton, Chris Lamb, Steve Schick, She-e Wu, and Josh Ryan.

Top of page